Proud Canadian

No, this isn’t the first chapter of Tome 2… But I’m working on it, I promise!

For those interested in my new job, it’s going extremely well. I just finished my first week of training and I’m loving it! I’m learning a lot of new things. I went from working at small 20 to 40 rooms boutique hotels to a 154 rooms hotel with conference rooms, in-house restaurants, etc. It is totally different from what I’m used to, but hey it’s a new challenge and this girl loves challenges!

So apart from my new job and writing the new opus of the Dead Briefs Tales saga, I’ve been watching the Olympics. Yeah, I’m a Winter Olympics addict. At first I was reluctant to watch them since they were held in Russia and I’ve been very vocal about my opinion on their anti-LGBT laws. You see I’m the oldest of three kids. I’m 28, turning 29 next May and I have a 22 year old sister and a 17 year old baby brother (well if you can call a 6 foot tall teenager a baby). My sister and I are both heterosexual, but my little brother came out last year. The whole family was so proud of him. So when we heard about Russia’s new laws about ‘homosexual propaganda’… Well, let’s just say that you won’t find any Russian Vodka in our households. Anyway, at first I didn’t want to watch the Olympics. But then I thought, what about our athletes? I was so proud of them during the Vancouver Games when Canada got 14 Gold medals. So I decided that for 17 days I would forget about Russia and focus on the Canadian Athletes.

CNS-OLY-OPEN

We’re now on Day 5 of the Games and I can’t tell you how much I’m proud to be Canadian! Our athletes have been AWESOME! Really, already 9 medals, 4 Golds, 3 Silvers and 2 Bronzes. And what about the athletes from my home province of Quebec?

Freestyle Skiing - Winter Olympics Day 1Chloe and Justine Dufour-Lapointe. 

The Dufour-Lapointe sisters. They were competing in the Freestyle Moguls category with their older sister Maxime. All three of them reached the finals with Maxime finishing 12th, Chloe winning the Silver and youngest of the three Justine winning Gold.

Short Track Speed SkatingCharles Hamelin and Marianne St-Gelais

Charles Hamelin won a Gold medal at the Short Track 1500m competition. And the first thing he did after his winning? Same thing he did after his win at Vancouver 4 years ago: he went and kissed his girlfriend, teammate Marianne St-Gelais!

Alexandre BilodeauAlexandre Bilodeau and his brother Frederic

Another athlete that did the same thing in Sochi after his win as he did in Vancouver? Freestyle skier Alexandre Bilodeau, who went and hugged his older brother Frederic. Frederic has cerebral palsy and is an inspiration for his younger brother.

So you see I’m very proud to be Canadian. I can’t wait to see our male hockey team perform (I’m an avid hockey fan) since our female team has been doing so well (2w-0l as of right now).

Proud Canada

So I should get back to my writing now, right? I have readers to please after all!

Lots of luv,

Lara Kingsley

Leave a Reply

