Up close and personal… and an update!

First and foremost… I’m so sorry for the wait! But I have good news: I have a new computer! My sister, in the goodness of her heart (which to be honest doesn’t happen a lot – no kidding the little sis suffer from a very bad case of the middle child syndrom and thinks she is perpetually persecuted by both me and our younger brother), gave me her old eMachines mini-laptop! It sure didn’t bother her since her boyfriend got her a brand new laptop for Valentine’s Day. So I said goodbye to pen and paper and typed all I had written.

This chapter would have come sooner if I hadn’t taken a well deserved mini vacation around Saint Patrick’s day. See at my work Christmas party I won a one night stay at a nice little boutique hotel in Old Montreal by hitting my head with a pool noddle and answering pop culture questions. So anyway, I was able to get two days off from work and took my brother with me. It was… illuminating! I got wasted at a nice pub/brewery and let’s say that when she’s tipsy – cause of course I wasn’t drunk! – LaraK tends to giggle a lot and talk a lot. And guess what? Little brother is the same! Even though we have a 12 years gap between us, I feel so close to him. I told him stuff I never told anybody and he did the same.

Another reason to the lack of earlier update is a medical one. I’ve been seing my doctor a lot recently. But don’t worry, it’s nothing critical! No… In fact it’s more life changing than anything else. I’ve been thinking about it for a long while now, probably the last 5 years, and, with my 30th birthday being next May, I finally decided to do it. Jeez, I can’t believe I’m writing this when I have so much trouble discussing it with some of my close friends! Well, I decided to have a baby. Here, it’s writen for the whole Internet to read! Yep, I decided to have a baby, by myself. I always knew I wanted to be a mom, ever since my own mother brought back my brother from the hospital when I was 12. This desire to have a child has been even more present since most of my friends and cousins started to have their own kids. I always thought I would meet prince charming, fall in love, get married and have a bunch of babies and live happily ever after. But you know what they say? Lucky in work, unlucky in love. That’s me! So I’m gonna do it. I’m waiting to get an appointment at a fertility clinic and start the process for an artificial insemination. If I’m lucky I’ll have either a little Erin or a little Alexander on the way by the end of the year.

So… You didn’t come here to read about my personal life (but thanks for reading anyway!) so I guess I better give you what you came for, right? So, chapter 22 of Dead Briefs Tome 2 is ready!!!!!!! Enjoy and don’t forget to leave a comment!

Luv,

LaraK

 

10 thoughts on “Up close and personal… and an update!

  1. Congrats to you! I have two boys and did not start until in my 30s. I can’t recommend it more. I love adventures and I’ve done all kinds of interesting things but I tell everyone and anyone that children are the most amazing adventure of my life. I have never regretted a minute. I wish the same for you.

  2. ALL THE BEST LUCK IN THE WORLD! You’re the only one who can decide when you’re mentally, emotionally, financially, etc., ready to bring Erin *and* Alexander (hey, twins are a possibility with artificial insem.!) into your life, and if you’re ready, then hell yeah – YOU GO, GIRL!! Fingers crossed that everything from A to Z goes fast and easy!

  3. Congratulation! I think that’s a wonderful choice that you can only make for yourself, and do it when you’re ready. Who says you have to follow “traditions?” Live your life the way you want, on your own terms, and it sounds as if you’re doing just that, so good for you! I have a daughter about your age who plans to adopt because she believes there are children out there that need love and mothers, so she chooses that instead of having her own. I have such admiration for you both! You’re able to make the choices we couldn’t in my generation, and I think it’s great! I wish you all the best, and hope all goes well! 🙂

  4. best of luck to you, we are all here if you need to talk about it. happy you got some time off and you and your brother became closer. it wonderful to have a tight nit family. (not counting your sister)… if you ever need me i am a click away by email.
    KY

  5. I applaud your courageous decision to have a baby by yourself. I raised two boys alone and it was the most challenging and wonderfully perfect experience imaginable. They are everything to me and my life would have so much less meaning without them. Being a single parent is liberating in many ways, you can set your own standards and give more time and love to the baby however your see fit. Even in the hard times they fill your world with magic and humility. Enjoy every minute, you are never alone.

Leave a Reply

