Give me a second to wipe away my tears…

Tears of joy, that is. The nominations for the New Blood Awards are starting to come out and apparently you love me and my work 😉 Early readers must remember how I doubt myself and my writing, especially since English isn’t my first language. But to receive not one, not two, but three nominations out of 5 categories? WOW!

So you decided to nominate me for best newcomer and to nominate Dead Briefs for best story and the Viking award – Best Eric. Us Quebecers have an expression for what I’m feeling right now: Je suis sur le cul! – litteraly I fell on my butt, allegorically I’m completely flabbergast! I’ll keep you posted as when voting will be open, but nomination are open until June 12th.

And now about an update… I’m working hard on the new DB chapter. Today is my last day of vacations, but don’t worry I’ll have it out by the end of the week. My 2 weeks off of work were… a roller coaster! I had my first appointement at the fertility clinic and everything went amazingly well. My doctor is a real jem and answered all the questions I had and gave me some answer to questions that I hadn’t thought of. I have some tests I need to go through (routine Health Canada tests, nothing to worry about) then a visit with a psychologist (also a routine visit demanded by Health Canada) and if everything goes well by the beggining of fall we should start the treatment. I have been warned that since I have Crohn’s Disease (an inflammatory bowel disease) any pregnancy will be high risk and I would most likely be sent on preventive withdrawal from work. My brother joked that being on preventive withdrawal will give me time to write my ‘stories’.

Then there was my 30th birthday party… I had expected a small dinner on my birthday – May 26th – with my parents, my sister, my brother and my two brothers-in-law since my Uncle and his wife’s (who’s also my mother’s best friend since birth) birthdays are on May 22nd and May 24th. And so on Sunday the 24th my sister and I went shopping then she and her boyfriend drove me to the restaurant where we were supposed to celebrate my Aunt’s 49th birthday. But… Surprise! It was a birthday party for me! Aunts, Uncles, Cousins and best friends were there for me. Lots of tears (always of joy) and laughter that night.

So… I’ll let you go. Afterall I have a chapter to finish!

Luv,

LaraK

3 thoughts on “Give me a second to wipe away my tears…

  1. Congratulations on your nominations – you deserve every one of them!!! Good luck with your other venture – ***fingers crossed*** Also: HAPPY LATE BIRTHDAY!!!

Leave a Reply

